The 2010 site update was made possible by the Supreme Court Historical Society—our funder and partner in this program from the beginning.

Throughout 2009–2010, many people helped Street Law improve the content of landmarkcases.org. Under the guidance of Assistant Professor Jeremy Stoddard, William and Mary graduate student John McLaughlin updated research to help us identify cases mentioned in the social studies standards throughout the country. Jennifer Farrar, a law school student at William and Mary, drafted the new decision summaries, which were reviewed by Tom Krattenmaker and Louis Lieto of Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati. Jennifer Conlon, a lawyer and teacher at Maine East High School (Park Ridge, IL), suggested several ways to adapt the teaching activities to various learners.

At Street Law, Allison Hawkins oversaw the site redesign with the help of Herb Caudill at CaudillWeb. Together with Allison, Amaly Snowdon and Megan Hanson edited, formatted, and organized the various content components to make them more appealing and user-friendly. Lena Morreale Scott updated many of the teaching materials, focusing in particular on offering ideas to teachers about how to effectively differentiate instruction for a variety of learning needs and styles. 

Special thanks to our publisher, Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, for assuring a wide audience for these materials by linking to www.landmarkcases.org from its many social studies textbook web sites.

Thanks to the high school teachers from across the country—many of whom have attended our Supreme Court Summer Institutes or Seminars—who have given us helpful feedback on the site and shared these materials with their students and colleagues.

  • Lee Arbetman
    Executive Director
    Street Law, Inc.
    Spring 2010

Recommended MLA citation format:

“Page name.” Landmark Cases.org. Street Law, Inc. and the Supreme Court Historical Society, 2010. Web. Day Month Year of access. <url if required>.


In 2004, Street Law hired Jeremy Stoddard, a doctoral student at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, to conduct updated research to help identify additional cases for the site.  Roe v. Wade and Korematsu v. US were added due to their specific mention in a significant number of state social studies content standards.

The updated edition of landmarkcases.org was made possible by the Supreme Court Historical SocietyMcGraw-Hill/Glencoe, and the SBC Foundation

Once again we turned to expert educators Stacy Farrar and Jennifer Brandsberg-Engelmann, our lead content experts for the original cases, for help with the new material. 

Kelly Koscuiszka, a law student at Georgetown University Law Center, and Stephanie Schlatter, a law student at Western New England School of Law, also contributed. 

Tom Krattenmaker of the Federal Trade Commission provided expertise in terms of legal and historical accuracy.

At Street Law, Inc., Megan Hanson took the lead in bringing this project to completion. She provided a complete edit of the materials, served as liaison with our publisher, and took care of all the little things that have to be done to complete a project of this complexity.

  • Lee Arbetman
    Director of U.S. Programs
    Street Law, Inc.
    Summer 2005


In 1998, Dr. Diana Hess, assistant professor of education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Nancy McCullough, a Montgomery County (MD) Public Schools government teacher, each came to Street Law with an idea for a web site featuring Supreme Court cases and concepts that would adhere to state social studies standards. Anand Marri, Dr. Hess' doctoral student, provided research on state standards that helped in the identification of the cases

The fifteen cases and accompanying teaching materials were developed by a talented writing team comprised of Montgomery County (MD) high school social studies teachers:

  • Jennifer Brandsberg-Engelmann, First lead content developer
    Walter Johnson High School, Bethesda, MD

  • Stacy Farrar, Second lead content developer
    Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD

  • Dave West, Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD

  • Margarita Borquez, Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD

  • Steve Miller, Walter Johnson High School, Bethesda, MD

  • Jennifer Souder, Watkins Mill High School, Gaithersburg, MD

The overall design of the web site reflects the creative work of Michael Logan, webmaster at Street Law, Inc. All the educators mentioned above reviewed and provided input on the design and features of the site.

Our organizational partners in the development of this site were the Supreme Court Historical Society (SCHS) and Glencoe/McGraw-Hill. A grant from the Hazen Polsky Foundation to SCHS supported both the initial study that made the site possible and the completion of the first half of the site's materials. SCHS recruited a team of legal reviewers to ensure the accuracy of the materials consisting Barbara Bridges, Tarlton Law Library of the University of Texas at Austin, and Patricia Evans, Library of the Supreme Court of the United States. SCHS also engaged Savina Lambert to obtain the permissions required to post various pieces of the web site's content.

Thomas G. Krattenmaker from the Washington, DC office of Mintz Levin served as the legal/historical reviewer of the answers to the background questions.

Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, publisher of the Street Law textbook, provided funding for this project. The Glencoe Social Studies Technology Team and McGraw-Hill New Media provided assistance with copy-editing and formatting of the site content. 

Street Law staff members and law student research assistants who contributed to the development of the site, include Matt Kavanagh, June Marshall, and Sarah Shapiro.

  • Lee Arbetman
    Director of U.S. Programs
    Street Law, Inc.
    Summer 2002